City Limit

Curated by Colin Snapp

Mar 19 — May 3 2015

Luke Barber-Smith

Anne Collier

Luke Fowler

Cyprien Gaillard

Michael Galinsky

Luigi Ghirri

Adrianna Glaviano

Deana Lawson

Dennis Oppenheim

Trevor Paglen

Doug Rickard

Robert Smithson

Thomas Struth

Guido van der Werve

The artists assembled in “City Limit” were chosen for how their work responds to the socialization of our collectively shared space—as an environment simultaneously conceived, perceived and experienced.

Utilizing the distance between artist and subject matter, these works function as composed records of the margins of urban culture and the familiarity of suburban settings, delimited by the encroachment of commercialization.

Through the presence of the lens, as well as the presence of the artist, concept and technique, aesthetic formalism and documentary realism come into confluence. What we're left with are records of human behavior, filtered through regions, centers and peripheries within the landscapes surrounding us.